Celebratio Mathematica

Michael F. Atiyah

Curriculum Vitae

Sir Michael (Francis) Atiyah, OM, FRS

Date of birth:

22 April 1929, Lon­don


Trin­ity Col­lege, Cam­bridge — BA (1952), PhD (1955)

Academic career:

1954–58: Re­search Fel­low, Trin­ity Col­lege, Cam­bridge

1957–58: As­sist­ant Lec­turer, Cam­bridge Uni­versity

1958–61: Lec­turer, Cam­bridge Uni­versity & Fel­low of Pem­broke Col­lege, Cam­bridge

1961–63: Read­er, Ox­ford Uni­versity

1963–69: Sa­vil­ian Pro­fess­or of Geo­metry, and Fel­low of New Col­lege, Ox­ford Uni­versity

1969–72: Pro­fess­or of Math­em­at­ics, In­sti­tute for Ad­vanced Study, Prin­ceton, USA

1973–90: Roy­al So­ci­ety Re­search Pro­fess­or & Fel­low of St Cath­er­ine's Col­lege, Ox­ford

1990–96: Dir­ect­or, Isaac New­ton In­sti­tute for Math­em­at­ic­al Sci­ences, Cam­bridge

1990–97: Mas­ter, Trin­ity Col­lege, Cam­bridge

1995–2005: Chan­cel­lor, Leicester Uni­versity

1997–present: Hon­or­ary Pro­fess­or, Ed­in­burgh Uni­versity


Col­lec­ted Works (6 volumes), Ox­ford Uni­versity Press

Honorary fellowships:

1976: Trin­ity Col­lege, Cam­bridge

1983: Pem­broke Col­lege, Cam­bridge

1991: St Cath­er­ine's Col­lege, Ox­ford

1992: Dar­win Col­lege, Cam­bridge

1999: New Col­lege, Ox­ford

1999: Fac­ulty of Ac­tu­ar­ies, Ed­in­burgh

Visiting appointments:

1955–56,1959, 1967–68, 1975: In­sti­tute for Ad­vanced Study, Prin­ceton, USA

1962, 1964: Har­vard Uni­versity

1968: Uni­versity of Chica­go

1996: Uni­versity of Cali­for­nia, Berke­ley

2002: Cali­for­nia In­sti­tute of Tech­no­logy

2004: Uni­versity of Michigan

Awards and memberships:

1962: Fel­low of the Roy­al So­ci­ety

1966: Fields Medal, In­ter­na­tion­al Con­gress of Math­em­aticians, Mo­scow

1968: Roy­al Medal, Roy­al So­ci­ety

1980: De Mor­gan Medal, Lon­don Math­em­at­ic­al So­ci­ety

1981: In­ter­na­tion­al Fel­trinelli Prize for Math­em­at­ic­al Sci­ences

1983: Knight Bach­el­or

1985: Fel­low, Roy­al So­ci­ety of Ed­in­burgh

1987: King Fais­al In­ter­na­tion­al Prize

1988: Co­pley Medal, Roy­al So­ci­ety

1990: Gun­ning Vic­tor­ia Ju­bilee Prize, Roy­al So­ci­ety of Ed­in­burgh

1991: Hon Mem­ber, Roy­al In­sti­tu­tion

1992: Or­der of Mer­it

1993: Frank­lin Medal for Dis­tin­guished Achieve­ment (APS)

1993: Jawa­harlal Nehru Me­mori­al Medal (INSA)

1993: Hon Fel­low, Roy­al Academy of En­gin­eer­ing

1994: Com­mand­er of the Or­der of the Ce­dars (Le­ban­on)

1996: Free­dom of the City of Lon­don

1997: Or­der of An­dres Bello (1st Class) Re­pub­lic of Venezuela

1999: Hon­or­ary Fel­low, Fac­ulty of Ac­tu­ar­ies

2001: Hon­or­ary Fel­low, Academy of Med­ic­al Sci­ences

2003: Roy­al Medal, Roy­al So­ci­ety of Ed­in­burgh

2004: Abel Prize

2005: Or­der of Mer­it (Gold), Le­ban­on

2008: Pres­id­ent’s Medal, In­sti­tute of Phys­ics

2010: Na­tion­al Or­der of Sci­entif­ic Mer­it of Brazil

2010: Grande Medaille, French Academy of Sci­ences

2011: Grand Of­fi­ci­er de la Le­gion d’Hon­neur

Honorary degrees:

1968: Hon DSc, Uni­versity of Bonn

1969: Hon DSc, Uni­versity of War­wick

1979: Hon DSc, Uni­versity of Durham

1981: Hon DSc, Uni­versity of St An­drews

1983: Hon DSc, Trin­ity Col­lege, Dub­lin

1983: Hon DSc, Uni­versity of Chica­go

1984: Hon DSc, Uni­versity of Cam­bridge

1984: Hon Sc.D, Uni­versity of Ed­in­burgh

1985: Hon DSc, Uni­versity of Es­sex

1985: Hon DSc, Uni­versity of Lon­don

1986: Hon DSc, Uni­versity of Sus­sex

1987: Hon Dsc, Uni­versity of Ghent

1990: Hon DSc, Uni­versity of Read­ing

1990: Hon DSc, Uni­versity of Hel­sinki

1991: Hon DSc, Uni­versity of Leicester

1992: Hon DSc, Rut­gers Uni­versity

1992: Hon DSc, Uni­versity of Sala­manca

1993: Hon Doct, Uni­versity of Montreal

1993: Hon DMath, Uni­versity of Wa­ter­loo

1993: Hon DSc, Uni­versity of Wales

1994: Hon D Maths, Le­banese Uni­versity

1994: Hon DSc, Queen's Uni­versity, King­ston, Canada

1994: Hon DSc, Uni­versity of Keele

1994: Hon DSc, Uni­versity of Birm­ing­ham

1995: Hon DUniv, Open Uni­versity

1996: Hon DSc, UM­IST

1996: Hon DSc, The Chinese Uni­versity of Hong Kong

1997: DSc, Brown Uni­versity

1998: Hon DSc, Uni­versity of Ox­ford

1998: Hon Fel­low­ship, Uni­versity of Wales, Swansea

1998: Hon DSc, Charles Uni­versity, Prague

1999: Hon DSc, Heri­ot-Watt Uni­versity

2001: Uni­versity of Mex­ico

2004: Hon D.Hum.Lit., Amer­ic­an Uni­versity of Beirut

2005: Hon DSc, Uni­versity of York

2006: Hon DSc, Har­vard Uni­versity

2007: Hon D, Scuola Nor­male, Pisa

2008: Hon DSc, Poly­tech­nic Uni­versity of Cata­lonia


Mem­ber of Ex­ec­ut­ive Com­mit­tee of In­ter­na­tion­al Math­em­at­ic­al Uni­on (1966–74)

Pres­id­ent, Lon­don Math­em­at­ic­al So­ci­ety (1975–77)

Pres­id­ent, Math­em­at­ic­al As­so­ci­ation (1981–82)

Mem­ber of Sci­ence & En­gin­eer­ing Re­search Coun­cil (1984–89)

Mem­ber of Coun­cil of Roy­al So­ci­ety (1973–74)

Vice-Pres­id­ent, Roy­al So­ci­ety (1984–85)

Chair­man of European Math­em­at­ic­al Coun­cil (1978–90)

Pres­id­ent, The Roy­al So­ci­ety (1990–1995)

Pres­id­ent, Pug­wash Con­fer­ences on Sci­ence & World Af­fairs (1997–2002)

Chair­man, CAMS, Amer­ic­an Uni­versity of Beirut, In­ter­na­tion­al Ad­vis­ory Com­mit­tee (1996)

Pres­id­ent, Roy­al So­ci­ety of Ed­in­burgh (2005–2008)

Foreign memberships:

Amer­ic­an Academy of Arts & Sci­ences (1969)

Roy­al Swedish Academy of Sci­ences (1972)

Leo­pold­ina Academy (1977)

Na­tion­al Academy of Sci­ences, USA (1978)

Academie des Sci­ences, France (1978)

Roy­al Ir­ish Academy (1979)

Third World Academy of Sci­ence (Found­ing Mem­ber) (1983)

Aus­trali­an Academy of Sci­ences (1992)

Ukrain­i­an Academy of Sci­ences (1992)

In­di­an Na­tion­al Sci­ence Academy (1993)

Rus­si­an Academy of Sci­ences (1994)

Geor­gi­an Academy of Sci­ences (1996)

Venezuelan Academy of Sci­ences (1997)

Amer­ic­an Philo­soph­ic­al So­ci­ety (1998)

Ac­ca­demia Nazionale dei Lincei, Rome (1999)

Roy­al Nor­we­gi­an Academy of Sci­ence & Let­ters (2001)

Span­ish Roy­al Academy of Sci­ences (2002)

Czechoslov­akia Uni­on of Math­em­at­ics,

Mo­scow Math­em­at­ic­al So­ci­ety

Hon. Prof. Chinese Academy of Sci­ence

Le­banese Academy of Sci­ences (2008)

Nor­we­gi­an Academy of Arts and Sci­ences (2009)